in-ear monitors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• in-ear monitors

Anyone using an in-ear to monitor their guitar sound along with the rest of the mix? Any recommendations?
    When using floor wedges, we seem to be incapable of finding a happy medium in balancing floor space issues (small venues) with volume issues. Then there's the complaint of "his monitor is making it hard to hear my instrument... blah blah blah."
    Just want to be able to hear the mix best suited to my needs without getting tripped up on wedges in a small floor space and tangled up in debate over volumes.

I have some experience with the Shure E5. Perfect for it's purpose but I feel kinda strange playing with these in-ear monitors.

Comment

I am not a fan of in ear monitors. If you are worried about space a nice solution is getting a couple of hot spots. They are super small, powered and they sound great. You can mount them on mic stands if you want. Just a couple of them is enough.

Comment

Originally posted by jgcable View Post
        I am not a fan of in ear monitors. If you are worried about space a nice solution is getting a couple of hot spots. They are super small, powered and they sound great. You can mount them on mic stands if you want. Just a couple of them is enough.
        jg- sounds good in theory, but those hot spots don't handle the frequencies of electric guitars and/or bass. Our monitors need to be capable of handling bass, guitars, drums and vocals.

Comment