Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

9.5 radius strat neck with a Floyd Rose?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 9.5 radius strat neck with a Floyd Rose?

Hey guyz

I'm building a superstrat. I'm making the body from scratch and the neck will probably be a Musikraft. The idea is to have a non recessed Floyd Rose and a 9.5 radius that I oh so love.
    But if I've understood correctly, the Floyd Rose has a different radius? 10"? So I will need a neck shim? What happens if I install the Floyd and the neck without a shim? Will the strings hit the fret or something and be unplayable?
    Also, if I go with a recessed Floyd, will the same issues remain?
    I'm a real beginner when it comes to the technical stuff such as radius etc so bear with me.

Thanks!

The Floyd should work fine. There may or may not be shims under the saddles. Just put the Floyd on, string up, and see how it is. If it's not to the curvature you like, then remove/add shims as necessary.
    I feel my soul go cold... only the dead are smiling.

Comment

a neck shim is used to create neck angle. a non recessed floating is 2-4 degrees, 0 degrees is standard fender Vtrem if you have an early floyd it will sit flat on the face of body on a standard fender 0 degree angle. in order to get the height to raise pitch you need to shim the neck. people who like the feel of the bridge at V trem height back routed floyds, it also saves wood when making neck thrus. neck shim has nothing to do with fret board radius.

Comment

I wouldn't be concerned with a 1/2" difference in radius.

Comment

I have to say 9.5" is not a great choice for an OFR build. OFR's are designed to match up with 12" - 16" radius necks. There is a shim that ships with OFR's that can be installed under saddles 2 - 5 that drops it from 16" to 12". If you must have 9.5", go with a 9.5" to 12" or so compound radius neck. You don't need that smaller radius up high.

Comment