PAF Pro tone and wiring in a model 4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PAF Pro tone and wiring in a model 4

Hello, I'm wondering if anyone could give me some advice on this. So I bought a guitar today, it's a model 4 with the bridge humbucker changed to a PAF Pro. I was really surprised when I plugged it in that it didn't sound at all like I expected. I don't know this pickup but to me it sounded nothing like a normal bridge humbucker (which I use 90% of the time) and sounded much more like a single coil of some sort.

I'm not an expert on single coil sounds but it has that twangy sound I would associate with them as well as harmonics not coming out well (as opposed to a humbucker) and it hums when I use it even though the two single coils don't.

Does anyone know if it's possible that the pickup was wired wrong, or purposely in some unusual way that would make it sound like a single coil? The wiring looks pretty complicated in there because of the mid-boost preamp and 3 knobs and 3 switches. Could something just have been soldered in the wrong place or a connection left out?

Also how would anyone who uses one describe the sound of a PAF pro? Do they sound totally different to a normal humbucker?

It absolutely could be wired wrong. It could be wired with only one coil active (single coil) or in parallel (weak clean output with no hum).

I have a PAF Pro in the neck of a RG550 that's great for playing Maiden (Super D in the bridge).

I think I have a PAF Pro in the bridge of a USA ST-III. It's smooth and powerful and thick - not twangy at all.

Look up a DiMarzio wiring color chart and check the wiring.

Or even easier, plug in a short cable, get a DMM, and read DC resistance between tip and shield with volume and tone turned full up. You should get around 9K ohms. If not, you have issues.

Comment

Check the battery first.
      Sounds like its not wired correctly.
      Really? well screw Mark Twain.

Comment