Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Headstock Refinish: Clear over Vinyl instead of Paint?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Headstock Refinish: Clear over Vinyl instead of Paint?

This may be a completely idiotic idea, and call me on it if it is since I'm new to all this, but I'm trying to learn.

For refinishing a headstock, would it be plausible to use vinyl in lieu of a base coat and simply clearcoat over that? I'm sure there's a catch I'm not thinking of, but I'm just curious. If it would work, using high grade adhesive vinyl, it would certainly cut project time and give a smooth consistent base to shoot clear over.

Let me know what I'm missing here, or if it's just frowned on because it isn't the vintage way. Thanks!

I'd say at least try it out on some scrap wood first. Maybe it would be fine?

Comment

Do you mean as an overlay to cover the whole front? Then another vinyl logo, then clear? Or printed vinyl like the wraps some have done, then clear?
      Every man dies... Not every man really lives!!

Comment

As long as you have chemical compatibility (try on scrap), there’s nothing wrong with that. Really, when ya think about it, it’s not all that different from what Gibson does with their headstocks.
        Sully Guitars - Built by Rock & Roll
        Sully Guitars on Facebook
        Sully Guitars on Google+
        Sully Guitars on Tumblr

Comment

Originally posted by sully View Post
          As long as you have chemical compatibility (try on scrap), there’s nothing wrong with that. Really, when ya think about it, it’s not all that different from what Gibson does with their headstocks.
          What is that? I'm admittedly not the biggest Gibson person, so I don't know their process.

Comment

The black face of the headstock is a veneer that is cleared over.

Sully Guitars on Google+
            Sully Guitars on Tumblr

Comment

Oh, well I'll be damned. Learn something new every day!