Duncan Invaders?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Duncan Invaders?

I'm going to get rid of the emg hz's that came stock in my dxmg, and I'm looking for some good passive pickups for thrash/death metal. I've done a lot of reading, and it sounds like duncan invaders might be a good choice for me. Do you guys think they will sound good in a basswood guitar? I played a synyster gates sig model at gc that had these pickups in it, and I was really impressed. Still though, I am a relative newbie and I impress easily :/ Do any of you guys have these pickups? would you recommend them? I'm not afraid to admit also that I'm completely blown away by the way they look. I saw someone comment somewhere that they look like lego's...and I totally agree.

If you like lots of bass, get them. 2 of my 3 Warriors have them. The third guitar won't take an Invader without having its pickup route butchered. Methinks SD should make an Invader.Jr
    Fuck ebay, fuck paypal

"Finger on the trigger, back against the wall. Counting rounds and voices, not enough to kill them all" (Ihsahn).

Comment

I had an Invader a long time ago, and recently got one and put it in my DK2 replacing the HB102B (a JB variant). It's a fun pickup. The DK2 is alder, so I'm not sure how basswood would compare.

Comment

Love invaders. My favorite goto duncan pup for passives. Real meat!And hell you can find em used for 45,50 bucks so it's really a no brainer.

Comment

Cool, I'm going to pick some up after work today and attempt to put them in. This will be my first pickup swap, but I can solder pretty good so I hopefully it goes well. Thank you for your input.

Comment

I got the pickups and put them in, I absolutely love them. Plucking away at a palm muted open E makes a growling sound come out of my amp.. it's fantastic. Thanks for answering my questions!

Comment

Any issues with Muddy or muffled tone?