What's fact, what's not and manipulating the public opinion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's fact, what's not and manipulating the public opinion

http://www.jcfonline.com/threads/105715-Neck-through-construction/page1 is very, very interesting read. I thought although I am not a pro guitar player for some tens of years experience, but got some really sound knowledge in guitar building/guitar related topics. However, this thread proved me wrong. The thing I hate about guitar making is the fact that the semantics as well as known "facts" can get quite blurry by the time.

For instance, people have known neck thru construction to be superior regarding the sustain of the guitar. But for the last 4-8 years we`ve started to hear the bolt-on method is better. In this forum lots of people "believe" (I too) quartersawn necks are stiffer and less prone to warpage whereas in other forums some "techs" claim there are proven facts for flatsawn necks to carry these claims [http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f57/quartersawn-vs-flatsawn-117872/#13]. Or now, soloists for not being neck thru but set through. Last but not least, gluing a bottom wood to the extension neck makes stronger but is as well cost effective.