Painting a guitar body

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Painting a guitar body

This is my first time painting a guitar body. not sure what to do. I sanded the body down and sprayed primer on it sanded it and then painted it with acrylic enamel. Is there another step to do before I clear coat it or just put clear on it and then I am done and does to much paint effects the sound of the guitar.

Thanks

This is involved. People usually use a paint system from a specific manufacturer. A lot of manufacturers have several lines of paint and the components are often not interchangeable between these various lines. On a car body that might include a series of products such as a metal cleaner, metal converter, etching primer, high-build primer, sealer, base coat (color) and clear coat. There are a lot of variations to this. You should look up the products you used for more information on what the next step might be or whether the components you used were compatible in the first place.

Comment

Chances are you have already made a few errors with your material choices. Acrylic Enamel? Single stage catalized enamel I would guess. If it is a non metalic, you will need to sand it before applying a single stage Acrylic Enamel clear.
      Custom Guitars, Refinish and restorations.
      http://www.learnguitars.com

Comment

It is a none metallic paint so should I wet sand it before I clear coat it and would a lacquer paint been a better choice. I am using spray can paint.

Comment

Let's see some pictures.

Comment

I would at least use a red Scotch Brite pad on the color coat. But since it is enamel and not catalized, it will need a bit of curing time as Enamel is rather soft. Laquer may have been the better choice of the two.

Comment

Are you open to just stripping it back and starting over? Enamel takes FOREVER to cure, and as Mike's already mentioned, it's pretty soft. You can probably just get a can of paint thinner and wipe it all off.