Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Plugging a bass into guitar stuff help???...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plugging a bass into guitar stuff help???...

Hi all,

Noob here again...

I got a new bass player coming `round to my place to see if we can get some stuff sorted...

I don`t think his 650W rig is quite appropriate for this particular ocossian so my Q is...

Can he safely plug into my Tonelab ST and run it through my apple mac and computer stereo speakers??? Can this be done safely???

I`ve also got some small practice amps here but I`ve had some bad experiences in the past running basses though this sort of stuff... hence the reason for my Q

Any help?

Thanks in advance...
    NOOB!

I wouldn't - it could be very hard on the speakers.

Comment

If the tonelab has a headphone out then you could safely run the computer speakers with that, but you are going to want to keep the volumes low unless your computer speakers also have a subwoofer to handle the low stuff.
      GTWGITS! - RacerX

Comment

Originally posted by Hellbat View Post
        If the tonelab has a headphone out then you could safely run the computer speakers with that, but you are going to want to keep the volumes low unless your computer speakers also have a subwoofer to handle the low stuff.
        +1 - Safety-wise, if there is a headphone jack, you're fine. Sound-wise, will most likely sound like crap unless you have some killer computer speakers.
        My Gear: Stoneman SG-1, Hufschmid Tantalum H6, ESP KH-6, Sully #8 JCF One-Off, Templar GuitarWorks Relic Prototype, James Hetfield Tribal Hunt KL Explorer, Coobeetsa CCG-10-DX PRO Eagle, Schecter Hellraiser C-1 Hybrid, Daly Heiro Custom, Gibson Les Paul Custom, Gibson SG Menace, Peavey Vypyr 60 Tube

"You are dog shit in my shoe." -Newc

Comment

Thanks all for your replies...

I forgot to mention...