Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sanding lower horn for better upper fret access. On my project guitar

Hi All,

I've posted pics and info on a Charvel Warren Demartini clone I'm working on and the body I bought from KnE guitars, I feel, needs more upper fret access.

This body on the website pic has just a bridge pickup with the lower horn cut in more for better upper fret access. I requested a route for a single coil neck pickup and when I got the body, the lower horn wasn't cut in as much. "He" said it was due to routing the single coil in the neck. It's not a deal breaker...but I was wondering if I can drum sand some addition relief in the lower horn...I'm not an expert guitar maker so I don't know what reprocautions it will have. Here's a pic of how much I want to cut out. The place where I start the lower horn cut in, by the neck pocket (between the 20 & 21st fret) is in-line with the neck screw.

I feel you should be able to get to every fret on a guitar without being obstructed by the body...otherwise what's the point of have all those frets if you can get to the last ones comfortably...

dinkyguitar
    Last edited by dinkyguitar; 07-31-2011, 11:06 AM.

Of course it can be done; the area I'd pay most attention to is where the cutaway begins the neck pocket. I'd change your design slightly so that you're taking off less in that area.

....Or contour the heel and the backside of the cutaway. That may get you the playability without changing the silhouette of the body.

Sully
    Sully Guitars - Built by Rock & Roll
    Sully Guitars on Facebook
    Sully Guitars on Google+
    Sully Guitars on Tumblr

Comment

I think in actual playing, on a bolt-on guitar, it will make zero difference, and as far as any impact on the guitar, it will make zero difference, so long as you don't cut in too much near where the neck bolts on.