Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to enlarge Floyd mounting hole studs for Gotoh locking studs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to enlarge Floyd mounting hole studs for Gotoh locking studs?

Hi All,

So I bought a Charvel neck and KnE alder guitar body for a project. It was drilled for Floyd Rose studs, but I think I want to buy a Gotoh Floyd which has a fatter locking studs....I know I can use the Floyd Rose studs, but I wanted to know how much of a pain it would be for me to enlarge them myself?

Here's a pic of my project which will be a Warren DeMartini style guitar...

dinkyguitar

I'm no expert here but I think you would need a drill press here to make sure the alignment is perfectly straight. The you would probably use a bit that is slightly bigger than the hole and keep on moving up to a larger bit until desired size.

Comment

You would need a pretty stout drill press, something perfectly level/square and very sturdy. Drilling a slightly larger hole where there is already a hole will have the wood pulling the bit around and any slop/play/flexibility could cause the bit to wander slightly, and you don't want those holes in the wrong spot or you'll cause yourself all kinds of issues. You definitely wouldn't want to try something like that with a hand drill.

If you had a really awesome drill press I'd say the level of "pain" would be not that much. If anything you could plug them and re-drill them. But, if you don't have one, and you don't have access to one, you're probably going to make things a lot worse than having to use Floyd Rose studs.

And besides, why not use the studs that have been on the market for 20+ years? Locking studs? That's cork-sniffer bullshit, man.

Comment

Thanks...

I do have access to a drill press and right now I'm in the deciding stage....I might just use the Floyd Rose studs with a Gotoh tremolo...