Inlay replacement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Inlay replacement

I am looking at having the inlays pulled and replaced on my RR Import. They would need to pull the dots, route for sharkfins and glue them in, and whatever else I don't know about.

I asked a local shop about it and they basically said "The problem is that in order to install new inlays, the frets have to be pulled to do it properly. So you'd be looking at not only the inlay work, but a full refret job as well. Pricing to have everything done is expensive...between $250 and $300 depending on if the fretboard is rosewood or ebony."

Would you agree to this statement? You can assume I don't but maybe I'm just ignant

Logic tells me yes, you would need to pull the frets to properly route the inlays on the board, but I have no experience personally.
    If I were you, I'd PM Sully and ask him directly.

Hell, take a road trip out to his garage with some beer and maybe you two can make a day out of it!
    My Gear: Stoneman SG-1, Hufschmid Tantalum H6, ESP KH-6, Sully #8 JCF One-Off, Templar GuitarWorks Relic Prototype, James Hetfield Tribal Hunt KL Explorer, Coobeetsa CCG-10-DX PRO Eagle, Schecter Hellraiser C-1 Hybrid, Daly Heiro Custom, Gibson Les Paul Custom, Gibson SG Menace, Peavey Vypyr 60 Tube

"You are dog shit in my shoe." -Newc

Comment

Stickers?

Comment

You can't be accurate usiong a router on top of the frets so yeah, you'd have to pull them. Also, if it's normal dots in the middle, the sharkies (factory Jackson looking ones) won't cover the whole area where the dots were. And last, $250-300 for inlays and a full refret seems pretty cheap to me. But it really depends on what you're doing it to. Is it a real screamer that you got super cheap?? You could buy a Rhoads Pro for a decent price and have what you are looking for..
        Every man dies... Not every man really lives!!

Comment