Recessed vs non-recessed bridge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recessed vs non-recessed bridge

Hey guys, wanted your opinion on something... and btw, I'm a newbie here so go easy on me if I ask any dumb questions
    I'm picking up the guitar after a 25yr hiatus so I'm basically starting from scratch. I recently picked up a Charvel model 4 and 6 and love them both. Of course they have the non-recessed bridge with a tilt back neck. Sometime down the road I wanted to start looking for a Jackson SL2H. I noticed that all the soloist's [appear] to have recessed bridge's (and I assume a non-tilt back neck). Is there really an advantage of recessed vs non-recessed? Or is this strictly a personal preference? And as a side question... I guess if someone wanted a soloist with a non-recessed bridge, Jackson could custom shop it, assuming you had enough money (LOL).

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Mainly a feel thing. I started playing on a non-recessed Floyd (and the body was routed to allow pull-ups) so that's what I like the most. But so many guitars are recessed these days that I've gotten used to that as well.

I had a bolt-on recessed Floyd ESP awhile back and I added a shim to the neck pocket, which caused me to have to raise the Floyd. This basically converted a recessed Floyd into a non-recessed Floyd. Can't do that with neck-thrus though.

Comment

There was a run of Shannon soloists with non recessed floyds. Maybe a long shot but they do pop up on the bay from time to time.
      I feel festive all year round. Deal with it.

Comment

Recessed versus non-recessed is dependent upon 2 main factors. 1: Personal preference. 2: The factories like recessed as they do not have to machine any tilt to get proper playability.

Les Pauls, for example, have a high string saddle and require about 4 degrees of tilt back. With a recessed trem or a low profile saddle, you can pretty much make the guitar geometry straight up.-Lou