Help me pick which pickups

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help me pick which pickups

I just got a MIM midnight wine body(alder), I'm going to put a black pickguard, HS config and I'm getting a strat neck with a rosewood board.
    I'd like your opinion on which pickups that I have would look(black or cream/black zebra) and sound the best.
    Neck I have a Jackson j100 and a Duncan Designed sc101.
    Bridge I have a Jackson J90C, Dimarzio Evo, Seymour duncan custom(zebra), and a dimarzio super distortion.
    which would you guys go with?

Im clueless when it comes to sc's, so no opinion there, but for the hb, Id go with the Dim. SD, or the J90. The SD Custom from what Ive heard is a rather full sounding pup, and my experience with pups with more bass and hollow chambers in the body(the routing under the pick guard) of more porous woods have always seemed to be muddy to me. I have no experience with the Evo at all.
    HTTP 404 - Signature Not Found

Comment

It's all going to boil down to your taste, but for me nothing beats a Custom in an alder guitar. I've only had them in rear-loaded guitars, though. For the single, I'd go with the J100. It's the only Jackson pickup I like besides the J90C.

Comment

Take the SD custom and swap in an Alnico 8 magnet. That combo puts me in tonal heaven. I'd go with the jackson SC as well.
        Last edited by The Rossness; 01-16-2011, 09:35 AM.

Comment

I'd try the custom because I've never had one (love the Custom Custom). Super Distortions sound great in a strat. Also, I have a J50BC in a strat and love it. There aren't any pickups I've ever really hated. I always find a way to make them work.

Comment

I don't generally like to mix and match brands in the same guitar. Go with the J100/J90C.

Comment

Originally posted by Axewielder View Post
              I don't generally like to mix and match brands in the same guitar.
              Same here although you must admit it makes no sense