Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can someone help a newb out with his Schaller tremolo?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can someone help a newb out with his Schaller tremolo?

Hey there, I'm pretty new to floating trems, and a couple months back I got a sweet 1989 Jackson Professional series Randy Rhoads with a Schaller bridge. I had no clue how much of a pain this would be. I mean, after six months of this thing, I still can't get it set up right.

Here's what I basically do:

Unlock the nut locks

twist the fine tuners all the way out

Tune each string to the right tuning, repeat a bajillion times until they all level out where they should be

If the bridge is not flat, adjust the springs and then retune another bajillion times

Lock the nut

Get angry because the tuning instantly goes wacky

Repeat the whole process a couple of times until they finally get decently in tune with the nut locked

Fine tune each string

Realize that the bridge is slanted a little and just accept it

And finally break a string two weeks after setting it up.

There's gotta be something I'm doing wrong, as I don't think there's anything wrong with the bridge. I know most of you don't want to answer such a rudimentary question, but y'all were so nice when you helped me buy this thing that I figured I just ask. Can anyone give me some tips? I've looked around on the internet a ton, but I just can't get the setup right.

Thanks in advance.

The biggest secret with regards to tuning a Floyd trem is stretch the the strings before locking the nut. When I restring the process looks like this:
    1 Remove lock nuts, place block between trem and guitar body(so trem stays semi-parallel), remove strings.
    2 Put new strings on, wind string tuners until they all look to have some reasonable tension. Remove block.
    3 Back micro tuners off all the way then forward about 3/4 of a turn.
    4 Pull, bend, play strings hard-just trying to stretch them.