Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Possible to just have kill switch/output jack????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible to just have kill switch/output jack????

So my next guitar i'm thinking on just having a kill switch wired up. No volume or tone pots. I'm new to kill switches and was curious if this could happen. If it can, does anybody know how it'd be wired?
    "Yet, every little piss ant wanna' be death metal wiener will just carbon copy the next phase.." Kam Lee/Massacre

LEFTY METAL HEAD!

Its possible, And you would solder your grounds from the P/U to the ground of the O/P jack and the hot from the P/U to one side of the switch and then a wire from the other side of the switch to the positive of the O/P jack.
    HTTP 404 - Signature Not Found

Comment

Originally posted by Twitch View Post
      Its possible, And you would solder your grounds from the P/U to the ground of the O/P jack and the hot from the P/U to one side of the switch and then a wire from the other side of the switch to the positive of the O/P jack.
      You want to make sure that the kill switch grounds the hot side in the "off" position. Otherwise you will get nasty hum.
      Last edited by J.C. Harrist; 06-23-2010, 01:25 PM.

Comment

Here's a diagram:

Comment

Thanks a lot man!

so you solder the ground on the pickup to the ground coming from the bridge/claw?
          "Yet, every little piss ant wanna' be death metal wiener will just carbon copy the next phase.." Kam Lee/Massacre

LEFTY METAL HEAD!

Comment

But talk to Newc before you do this, he ordered a custom shop with no controls (!) and found he did not like it
            "Quiet, numbskulls, I'm broadcasting!" -Moe Howard, "Micro-Phonies" (1945)

Comment

Originally posted by DeathThrashAttack View Post
              Thanks a lot man!

so you solder the ground on the pickup to the ground coming from the bridge/claw?