Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Replacement Pickup: Are my height adjustment springs too long?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacement Pickup: Are my height adjustment springs too long?

Or am I just a dumbass?

This is my first time replacing a pickup, but I figured it would be a piece of cake. Just soldering a couple spots and being done with it. But NO, I can't even get the damn pickup and the bezel together!

My replacement pickup is a Bare Knuckle Holy Diver (which, btw, has paint flaking off the cover like no one's business, also pissing me off.) I got a 1/4 inch leg and the spring is 1 3/4" Now, I understand that there has to be some tension but its impossible to fit the springs between the pickup leg and the bezel like so: http://www.pickuprings.com/installation_

If I really try, I can get the spring short enough to be clear of the end of the height adjustment screw, but I'm so busy holding the spring, I can't get the screw through the hole in the pickup leg.

Can somebody tell me what I'm doing wrong here?

Sounds right to me. Sometimes they are a pain in the ass.

Maybe the BKP is relic'ing before your eyes?

Comment

If its relic'ing this fast, I would hate to see it in 20 years!

And by "sounds right" do you mean that it sounds like the springs are too long or that it sounds like I'm just having a hard time? Because I'm suspecting that they sent me springs for a 1/2" leg.

Comment