Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cracks near the headstock or just finish cracks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cracks near the headstock or just finish cracks?

I own this RR1 from 2007..never dropped or banged against anything.
    On artificial light the cracks are nearly impossible to view..but directly under sunlight today OMG.
    Is an hard tell..clear gloss finish cracked or cracks from the inside?

Last edited by bronz79; 06-02-2010, 10:06 AM.

Im no expert but those look like clear coat cracks. Theyre so small that I would think it odd that the wood would crack that small, unless there is an unvisible crack in the wood underneath the paint as well that has expanded enough to crack the clear coat, but I would think if that were the case it would have cracked the blue paint as well and to me the blue looks fine.
    HTTP 404 - Signature Not Found

Comment

Theyre finish cracks... Ive got a Model 6 and a Rhoads with the same things and absolutley no damage to the headstock. Its nothing to worry about.
      Imagine, being able to be magically whisked away to... Delaware. Hi... Im in... Delaware...

Comment

Wood cracks will usually follow the grain. I agree that it is a crack in the finish, most likely caused by the wood expanding/shrinking with temperature/humidity changes.

Comment