Finishing and Airbrushing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finishing and Airbrushing

I want to airbrush a guitar, but I need to know what kind of work I need to do to get a basecoat on. Do I need to sand first( using a totally new unfinished body) and do I need to sand after laying the basecoat before starting to use the airbrush?

I'm using Auto Air paints. I haven't painted anything in about 2 years and when I did my sons hlemet, I thought I remembered that using AA's Base coat sealer didn't require any sanding, yet after the clear, it seemed liked it had peaks and Valleys in it.

I have done I guess what you would call artwork, but no experience basecoating stuff, other than the helmet once.

So if , the sanding is needed, how do you know what grit to use and do you wet or dry sand at this stage? Thanks for any help!
    Madness Reigns......... In the Hall of the Mountain King!

Anyone ?

Comment

I AM NO PRO AT THIS...... But my take is it depends on what you's look for in the end. The wood will have to be sealed and flattened (sand and sealer) before the base coat. What you use will depend on what paint you are using. I assume the Auto Air is a poly paint so you'll want to use all poly everything. Like when I did the Model 6, I used nitro so everything I used was nitro. Make sure everything you use is compatible or bad things ensue...
      As far as the process, It should be sand and sealer to seal and build up a flat surface. Then primer. Sand. Then base coat (however many it takes to cover). Sand. Airbrush. Clear. Wet sand. Buff and polish. Build. ROCK!!!
      Every man dies... Not every man really lives!!

Comment