Input Jack info

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Input Jack info

This really isn't a question but it is very tech involved.

I'm wondering what kind of input jacks do you use on your passive setups? I personally still use a Switchcraft 12B Stereo jack with the extra prong to help sturdy the cable to keep it from wobbling. I have found this to be a good solution to pretty much never having an input jack become loose because its always kept tight with that second prong.

Anybody else do this? I have one in every one of my guitars, excluding the Roswell simply because of the barrel style jack needed. I have been doing this for well over 5 years now and never had one fail yet.
    Chris

Is there any other brand of guitar...?

My fleet of guitars
    http://www.angelfire.com/va2/ckjones

I found the stereos ones do work better and use them if I need to replace a stock jack that is giveing me problems.

Comment

I replaced all my Input jacks on my guitars with Output jacks and the tone has improved considerably.

You can also wire a stereo jack for both Input and Output operation, and that increases headroom a lot.
      I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.

My Blog: http://newcenstein.com

Comment

Originally posted by Newc View Post
        I replaced all my Input jacks on my guitars with Output jacks and the tone has improved considerably.

You can also wire a stereo jack for both Input and Output operation, and that increases headroom a lot.

Comment

I just put a new switchcraft jack in my guitar after taking out the EMGS. I didn't use a stereo one though, I had to really push hard to get the cable into it , it was so tight.