uli's tokyo tapes "fly to the rainbow" solo tone

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• uli's tokyo tapes "fly to the rainbow" solo tone

okay....i have been working for a few years to get the sound the uli roth achieves during the solo/poem section of "fly to the rainbow" of the "tokyo tapes" CD. i am NOT talking about his strat or the old marshall - more the delay and "swirling" effects he used.

i am looking to incorporate a SIMILAR (not exact) tone into my rig for live performances. i want that bluesy/hendrixish swirling during his solo.

my current rig is a rivera S120 running in a wet/dry setup with the dry signal feeding 2 rivera c112 cabs loaded with EVM12L speakers. the wet side feeds a mesa recto 2x12 with V30's.

my current effects pedals are: VOX wah -> MXR EVH phase 90 -> sansamp classic (for light grit on clean channel) -> yamaha distortion (for medium grit on clean channel) -> amp

i use a digitech effects processor in my rack (runs in the loop and splits the wet/dry signal)

my main guitar is my holoflake SL-1, though i play PC-1's on stage too, depending on my mood. though i am consider playing one of my fenders for the song i am thinking of....

i want this sound for a QUARTER of ONE song, so i don't want to hear about all these exotic expensive pedals. we're talking MAYBE a minute and 50 seconds.....

i was thinking the swirl could be achieved with a univibe, but i am not sure.

thanks!!
    GEAR:

some guitars...WITH STRINGS!!!! most of them have those sticks like on guitar hero....AWESOME!!!!

some amps...they have some glowing bottle like things in them...i think my amps do that modelling thing....COOL, huh?!?!?!

and finally....

i have those little plastic "chips" used to hit the strings...WHOA!!!!

Can't you get the "swirl" from a flange or phaser?
    "Got a crazy feeling I don't understand,
    Gotta get away from here.
    Feelin' like I shoulda kept my feet on the ground
    Waitin' for the sun to appear..."

Comment