Which Marshall JVM?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Marshall JVM?

It's gotten to the point where it's simply silly for me to drag along a head + 4x12 cab, we just play small venues and finding enough real estate on stage for a full rig is nowadays like getting a 3br apt in Hong Kong - i.e. impossible.

Volume-wise it is the same situation, where we play I simply can't crank a 100W to "coolness level", as Bill Z. would say.

Plus, I honestly don't care about the visual appeal of a full or half stack, I am not a bedroom player (music-wise at least...), I am a gigging musician who needs a variety of tones, from sparkly clean to very high gain, and I need a usable amp to cover all grounds.

So, with a 410H head in mind as a reference tone, I am thinking of getting a Marshall JVM combo, and I have these choices:

- 410C, 4 channels and 2357 modes, 100W, 2 speakers

- 210C, 2 channels and 6 modes, 100W, 2 speakers

- 205C, as above, 50W

- 215C, as above, 1 speaker

I am kind of more inclined towards the 215C, it seems compact, it has enough versatility, and if the channels are taken from the JVM head it should sound great.

Plus, the fact that it has only 1 speaker means that, if I ever need to mike the amp, there is only 1 speaker to choose, whereas the other combos have two different speakers (vintage and "modern"), so which speaker should I mic?

Also, I would not choose one of the more "boutique" alternatives (Soldano, Engl etc.) simply because of overall reliability vs replaceability.
    Yes, Marshall does have QC issues at times, but at least if my Marshall fails I can go into any GC and get a new one, and then return it after the gig.

So, what do you recommend?

well i say go play all of them and see which one fits you better. you already have an idea of which one you want so go try that one first.

Comment