Anyone put P-90's in their Jacksons?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone put P-90's in their Jacksons?

Just what the title says....I have an SL2H and am considering this option....anyone done something similar? If so, what pickups did you use, and how did it go?

Thanks!

P-90's are one pickup style that I've never used before. Always wanted to try them, just never did. I believe that both DiMarzio and Seymour Duncan make a version of the P-90.
    'Howling in shadows
    Living in a lunar spell
    He finds his heaven
    Spewing from the mouth of hell'

Comment

Yeah...it's funny....I've just come to realize that a lot of guitar tones that I really dig are P-90 tones. I'm kinda tempted to throw one (neck) or a pair in my SL2 just to see what I think...but I don't know what to expect, or if I can do a P-90/humbucker hybrid...anyone try this?

Comment

Gibson makes a LesPaul ("BFG" i think?) That has a Humbucker in the bridge and a P90 in the neck,so it is possible, and has been done.

Not sure how hot the P90's are so volume drop switching between the Hum and P90 would be something to consider.
        Possibly a PAF/P90 Combo? Or Distortion/P90? You get the idea.
        'Howling in shadows
        Living in a lunar spell
        He finds his heaven

Comment

i just though of something: I'm not sure if DiMarzio's or Seymour's P90's will retrofit into a regular humbucker routing? Might wanna look into that first before getting into it too much. But I'm sure they will make you one or a pair that does fit if you really want it.
          'Howling in shadows
          Living in a lunar spell
          He finds his heaven

Comment

Duncan makes a hum-sized P90, don't they?

Nick at Piney Hills owns a Jackson Jazz'R with P90s - ask him how they sound.
            I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood

The most human thing we can do is comfort the afflicted and afflict the comfortable.