Mesa amp switching?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mesa amp switching?

Hi there, I have a Mesa Boogie two channel Triple Rectifier. I have been interested in getting into rackmount processors and effects and had a couple questions. The footswitch controlling the channels of the head only require a standard cable (not a MIDI one) so I was wondering if there was any effect processor that could control internal effects along with amp switching of my Mesa Triple Rec (i.e. T.C. Electronics G-Force or G-System, etc)? I'm sorry if this is a really dumb question but I'm quite new to all of this and have been frantically searching forums about if these processors will work with my setup...but to no avail have found nothing! Thanks for all the information and any other suggestions for good processors that can do what these systems can (an all-in-one, type system).
    Last edited by DC_rhoads82; 06-19-2008, 08:44 PM.

you can get midi foot controllers which will control the effects unit as well as the channel switching of your head. My FCB1010 is setup to change patches on my Studio Quad 4 & change amp channels at the same time, all with one stomp
    Hail yesterday

Comment

Even though the head doesn't have a midi jack a midi foot controller can still control channel switching?

Comment

if your foot controller is capable, yea. The Behringer unit is one of the cheapest of its kind on the market and it has 2 latching relays that let you switch channels on your amp (or can be used for whatever other purpose you can come up with). I run two cables from the FCB: one is a midi cable for the FX unit, the other is a standard guitar cable to the amp's footswitch jack.

Then you just program the controller to select patch 9 on the fx unit with the amp's 2nd channel when you step on pedal 4 and voila! You're up and rockin'!!
        Hail yesterday

Comment

I use a GCX audio switcher to switch amp channels and midi patches. Work like a champ!!