Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am done buying GM products!!

A little background about me:

I was a certified tech for Toyota, Honda, Nissan and GM. I was also a service write for about a year and a half. I know my way around cars very well. I don't know everything, but, my mechanical skills are very strong.

September 2005 my wife fell in love with this bright yellow Chevy Cobalt that was made to look like it came off the set of " Fast and the Furious ". Notice I said "look". This thing wouldn't go fast if it was drug behind a 747.

It was listed as a demo with only 32 miles on it. Me knowing how this program works asked the salesman how long ago it was activated. He told me just 2 weeks ago. With only 32 miles on it, it seems logical.

Fast forward to February 2008. The car has 25K and change on it. Babied by my wife.
    Check engine light goes on and the car developes a dead miss with no power. Take it to the dealership since it is covered under the 3/36,000 warranty........ or so I thought.

Come to find out the car was activated November of 2004 and the warranty was expired. I get a estimate for $960.00 plus tax. Error code 202 and 203 which means misfire on 2nd and 3rd cylinders. I was told it was diagnosed as a bad coil pack. The parts they were replacing was the coil pack, the thermostat and 2 plugs.

First: Where the hell did the t-stat come into play. The car has never overheated nor underheated.

Second: Why only 2 spark plugs? If you are going to ram me in the ass, at least replace all 4 for fucks sake!!

I talk to the service writer about this. I call him back and I inquire why he was charging me 6 hours labor to do this as it only takes about 30 minutes tops ( including pulling the car into the garage and getting your tools ready ) and why is he hitting me up for $450.00 in parts when I just priced them at YOUR parts department for for a shade under $300.00. Remember these prices.