The clueless shredder -

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The clueless shredder -

-would be me... Hi, I've been playing for a while (since 1967, gigging regularly since about '77). I've played a bunch of different styles & genres through the years, but just sorta missed the boat on the whole shred / heavy rock thing. During the 80's, I spent a lot of time working on jazz, chicken pickin', rockabilly, stuff like that... about as close to the shred thing that I got was working on some of the Steve Morse-type, 3 notes per string-type stuff; I also spent some time working on the Frank Gambale sweep picking thing, but pretty much suck eggs at that... Recently I landed a gig with a vocalist / writer / multi-instrumentalist who's had quite a bit of radio success, & has worked with some guys that are household names as far as heavy rock guitar playing is concerned. His new material is quite different, & I think he wanted a different sort of guitar player, which he got with me... but nonetheless, we will also be doing some of his older material, & I'd like to incorporate a bit of flash / speed into my style for that stuff...

What in your opinion are some of the better instructional materials for this style? By "better", I don't necessarily mean the most outrageous licks - I'm looking for a clear, concise teaching style with practical "real world" playing examples. I really like the book/CD instructional format, as I think it's the most convenient reference, but am open to suggestions. Instructional videos sorta drive me nuts, & I don't have a DVD player.

Also - and hey, I'm not starting a thread about speed / technique vs. taste / phrasing (!!!)- but I'd really like to start developing a bit more speed / authority on the instrument. What, in your experience, have been the most effective, results-oriented exercises & routines for developing speed, legato technique, etc.?