Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I need a good metal rhythm book to work with.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need a good metal rhythm book to work with.

Can someone suggest a good rhythm book to work out of ?

Maybe it's the fact that i've spend the last year working entirely on leads, but I stink at the rhythm.

It may be my lack of theory, but I feel like something is holding me back. I'm not very good at doing gallops or any of those fun tricks. This is metal rhythm guitar im working on mind you.

Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks all.

Re: I need a good metal rhythm book to work with.

Apparently, some of my friends regard me as quite the competant rhythm player in regards to my picking-hand endurance and precision. Maybe it's because I spend most of the time practicing riffs and not forcing myself to learn leads, although I'm trying to work more on leads now.

I don't have any books to suggest, but what I listened to and practiced with were Iced Earth albums. Strange how Iced Earth pops up whenever there's a discussion thread about rhythm, but I honestly feel that playing Iced Earth riffs over and over will give you the stamina, speed, and precision needed for percussive rhythms, in my opinion. Personally, it worked for me, but it may not work for others.

Be forewarned that Iced Earth is just one style of rhythm playing which has a lot of galloping and alternate picking on only a few notes on a single string, so maybe this "lack of theory" you were talking about won't get helped much here. Although, Iced Earth does have some string-skipping riffs...