Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Going to audition for Advance Guitar in Highschool some suggestions.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going to audition for Advance Guitar in Highschool some suggestions.

This August I'm going to enter my freshman year in high school. One course I wanna take is advanced guitar. I do understand that each high school advance guitar course is different but could anyone give some general advice on the audition for the class. What would be the best song to play to get in? Also are there any scales that I should be aware of in my audition. Like the guy in charge of the audition would be like play the Spanish Phrygin scale in E. In general are they judging your ability on Technical stuff like Sweep Picking or stuff like reading music? Thanks

Re: Going to audition for Advance Guitar in Highschool some suggestions.

Where are you from!!!??? I wish my high school had a fricken guitar course. What the crap? I'm a Sophomore and my high school sucks!

Comment

I've never even frikkin' heard of any high schools that have courses like that.

Comment

"Spanish Phrygin scale in E"

What the HELL is that?

Comment

I had a beginner's acoustic guitar class at my school. I got a 91% in it, probably because I was not a beginner. The class was offered to Grade 10s, but I was in my senior year last year, but still allowed to enroll and get my credits to move on to university. There's an advanced one now for Grade 11s, but since I was in my senior year last year, I graduated before the advanced course was offered. Oh well!

I didn't have to audition. People whom I've talked to on message boards who have had guitar classes at high school didn't need auditions either. Seems a little strange to have that...