EMG on 18 volts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EMG on 18 volts

I remember seeing this topic on the old board, but since it doesn't work any more I'd like to refresh it here.
    I've been using EMGs for quite a few years now. I like them, but the 18 volt mod kepps me from beeing satisfied. Have any of you tried it and what do you think about it?
    I've read on EMG's site that all their products are designed for 27 volts. My main concern here is:
    1) what's the change in output signal strengh-wise
    2) what's the change in the signal tone-wise
    3) is it going to be difficult/more difficult to get a clean sound.
    Right now I'm using EMG 81, 85, 60, and S.
    Just any thoughts about this subject.

Re: EMG on 18 volts

interessting question...
    cumon!! get this guy some answers!! [img]graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
    tremstick give-away (performer series trem)

Comment

EMG's are not necessarily recommenede for use at 27 volts, that's the most they can take for normal use and operation, anything exceeding that is extraneous. Now, 18 volts can be wired in series or parallel. You can choose to wire it so that in essence you only have 9 volts of current running through but you'll end up with longer battery life. Or you can wire it such that all 18 volts are working through the circuit. Then, you benefit from increased headroom. This is most notable on bass guitars where you have a range of sound from very low to very high. The results are not as noticeable on guitar, although ClevelandMetal likes this set up.
      "Got a crazy feeling I don't understand,
      Gotta get away from here.
      Feelin' like I shoulda kept my feet on the ground
      Waitin' for the sun to appear..."

Comment

I guess that mat be the answer. On the other hand, a weak 9v battery still delivers (more or less) 9v, only the current isn't as strong. How about 6v and the current of a fresh 9v battery? Jaust thinking.

Comment