Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fretted strings out of tune + guitar action.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fretted strings out of tune + guitar action.

I have a Jackson Rhoads guitar and when I tune it (I keep it in E) then play the open strings it sounds fine. But when I start playing chords or even go from a fretted string to an open string it sounds out of tune. And I get that "waving" sound when I use distortion. Am I just being too heavy handed or is there something wrong with the guitar?

I also had another question about raising the action of a guitar. Hopefully the above problem isn't related to the action being high because I have a Kirk Hammett sig. that I would like to raise to the string height of the Rhoads. When I play it I feel like my fingers should be hitting the strings sooner than they actually do and it's just a little aggravating. I've never done it before but I'm a pretty quick learner - that being said should I attempt to raise it myself or just take it to a shop?

sounds like the intonation is way off (which could be a result of the action...got any pics we could see?) very high action can be a factor in the intonation being off. or you could be too heavy handed (if you press the string down hard enough you CAN pull it out of tune.)

i would say if youre not experienced in setting up guitars, then take it to a shop and have them work on it, and watch and ask questions so you can learn yourself. i learned on my own by reading everything i could, then doing my own work. not the best way, because i could have screwed something up, but i havent and im thankful for that! i wish i woulda had a teacher though
    My metal band Lucian Scott
    Debut Album Defiance on the Steps of Heaven
    Available Now!
    New Album Coming Soon!

Lucian Scott Soundclick

Soundclick page : clips and jams

Comment