SL2HT tuning problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SL2HT tuning problems

I recently purchased a new SL2HT Soloist which, of course, you probably know is a tunamatic bridge/string-thru-body.

I have had tuning problems since day one. The axe came factory with .009 gauge strings. Shortly afterwards, I restrung it with .010 gauge strings. I have been playing for 14+ years and have a good idea of how to properly restring a guitar.

When the tuning problems persisted, it hastened my trip to the Authorized tech I normally go to for a setup. I suspected that the nut needed to be slotted just a bit more too accomodate the heavier strings. The tech did this. He agreed that this may have been the problem. All seemed well after a full setup (nut slotting, intonation, neck relief, etc). However this only lasted for a short while.

Everytime I do a bend that goes past about 1 step the whole damn thing goes flat, but most notably on the unwound G,B, and E strings. It will stay in tune for 15 minutes at a time with somewhat heavy bending, then out of no where multiple strings go flat again after one bend. It's getting frustrating. My hardtail USA Double Fat Strat stays in tune and so should this Jackson. The guitar is in a room where the humidity is fairly well controled, but I am not excluding the fact that the humidity that does creep in here might be having an effect.

I am an experienced player and I am thinking the only thing left might be that I didn't restring it very well with the 10 gauge strings, or the nut slots need to widened a tad more. I will put a dab of that new Nut Sauce lubricant on there when I can find some.

Has anyone else experienced this with a tunamatic/string-thru, or does anyone have some advice?

Thanks for your time!

Re: SL2HT tuning problems