Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie Custom Shop questions

Greetz,

This is my first post here so I’ll start by introducing myself. My name is CJ and I’m a confirmed guitaraholic. I’ve been playing guitar for twenty years and my top three favorite makes are (in no particular order) BC Rich (The original hand-made ones from 1974 to 1985) and any USA Charvel / Jackson.

I’m seriously considering having Jackson’s custom shop build my next guitar and I’d like to get a couple of questions answered by the experts here. First of all, does anyone know where Jackson’s mahogany comes from, Africa or Honduras? Second, I’ve never played a USA Kelly N/T and I’m curious as to how well they balance. Are they neck-heavy or do they balance well standing up? Also, I did try a search on this topic but nothing came up. Thanks in advance for you help!!

Cheers,

CJ

Re: newbie Custom Shop questions

Can´t help you, but
    WELCOME
    [img]/images/graemlins/toast.gif[/img]

Comment

Not sure where they get the wood from. I have a USA Kelly and it is a little nose heavy, but I use nylon straps. A leather strap would solve this no problem.

TIP: A friend of mine had a guitar that was nose heavy and he liked the nylon straps too. His cure? Spread some blue gasket maker on the part of the strap that went over his shoulder. When it dried it was tacky enough to prevent nose dive.
      Scott
      Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright, that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong.

Comment

If you get a Floyded Kelly, you can mount the rear strap pin in the top rear trem cavity cover screw hole and it'll tilt the nose up, as well as make the guitar hang farther towards your picking hand like a Strat or LP.
        I want to depart this world the same way I arrived; screaming and covered in someone else's blood