Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Charvel's lured me back...

Hey guys,

Will here - I'm a sixteen year old guitarist from Eastern Canada. I've had a ton of guitars over the years, but one of my favourites was my old 2010 Charvel San Dimas "Lucky Seven" H-S-S model that I bought new last September. I absolutely fell in love with the feel of the quartersawn maple neck and classic Charvel finish, as well as things like the raw and rippin' tone provided by the Duncans, and the understated yet deadly looks of the iconic superstrat. However, after about two months, I had my heart set on buying a custom Suhr, so I sold it for what I paid and moved on. However, I always thought back to the guitar and how much I missed it. Even after ordering and getting my Suhr Modern, I still missed the Charvel...

Flash forward to a week ago. I was chatting online with my buddy who happens to be my de facto sales rep for the Long and McQuade here. I'd just taken delivery of my Modern and was jokingly saying to him that I wanted a backup guitar. Then it hit me - the L&M location where he works had ONE last USA Pro Mod sitting on the wall. It was a black San Dimas, probably from the first run that had been sitting on the wall since it came into the store two or three years ago (The SN is under 001200). They had dropped the price on it a few times before the paint on the back started to flake off near the tremolo cavity. I discussed this with him and then started into the hardball negotiation - which isn't something normally done at L&M from what I understand.

"Dude, I love that guitar, but even your current asking price reflecting the condition is steep... I'll give you $400 for it."