Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question About Putting a Fixed Bridge in Pro Mods...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question About Putting a Fixed Bridge in Pro Mods...

Hi all,

Noob here from Australia again...

I`ve got a San Dimas 2, also looking at buying a So-Cal, also looking for some-one down here to bulid me a custom Wildcard.

To cut a long story short, the Floyd Rose has to go/ can`t be there and yeah I know about the `cavity` and no I don`t want it locked off I just want it gone!

I don`t know alot about guitars except for how to play them so I`ll have to source the parts and pay some-one to do the job...

I`m asking for some suggestions of a high quality fixed bribge that will go straight into a Pro Mod Series...

Thanks,
    Noob

Buy a different guitar.

Why do you want to do this? This is the kind of garbage you do to a $120 guitar you bought off Ebay, and then sell it on Ebay for $75.

Sorry to be harsh but I'm just trying to give you an idea of how stupid I think this idea is. Don't take it personally.

Seriously, why not just BLOCK THE TREMOLO?

If that isn't good enough you truly should just buy a different guitar.

Comment

+1

Buy a hardtail strat. You'd be taking a neck that already has a Floyd nut and a body that already has a Floyd route and somehow converting it. Not worth it.

Order a custom shop charvel.
      -------------------------
      Blank yo!

Comment

Nothing wrong with the idea, IMO. It's different, but certainly not "stupid". Everyone had their chance to "save these from the crazy people" and passed it up. If someone comes along with these ideas, you lost the right to bash them for it.

That said, you could find someone skilled at woodworking (not some weekend warrior that has paint-splattered everything and 5 teeth in his head) and have them cut a solid block insert to seal the trem cavity. Mount the hardtail to that, and replace the locking nut with a non-locking alternative.